VIrus warning, genuine!
 




IT Certification FAQ

 
|
Home
|
Microsoft
|
CISCO
|
CompTIA
|
Exam/Study FAQ
|
Employment FAQ
| Links  | Forums  |
Book Reviews


FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile  Log in to check your private messagesPrivate messages  Log inLog in

VIrus warning, genuine!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum Index -> alt.certification.a-plus
Author Message
Rick Blythin
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:18 am    Post subject: VIrus warning, genuine! Reply with quote

message unavailable
Back to top
Rick Blythin
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:18 am    Post subject: Re: VIrus warning, genuine! Reply with quote

No ISP I know would send out mail with attachments for so-called 'security'
fixes. Unless you actually contact tech support and they send you a patch.
Any security fixes are posted as downloads. I'd never open up any attachment
even from my ISP unless I requested it or scanned it and verified it was
virus free. I haven't had a virus in 4 years and counting well my temp
browser folders have had virus attempts from surfing the web but active
monitoring caught them. When in doubt never open attachments and just delete
mails.

BTW it's usually not good practice to cross-post to a lot of newsgroups. A
lot of people see it as 'trolling'.

Rick

"Kenny" <elvis@gracelands.com> wrote in message
news:bh3qo6$t7ucj$1@ID-126822.news.uni-berlin.de...
Quote:
I wasn't so stupid as to open it. Although Norton said it was clean I was
suspicious as well as curious,did some research on it and discovered it
was
a new virus. That is why I posted the warning to a number of groups as
well
as to friends advising them not to open it and to update their anti-virus
program.

--

Kenny


"Tom MacIntyre" <tom__macintyre@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:huhajvkmldp1ilegj3fcm1o95msi74svs0@4ax.com...
On Sat, 9 Aug 2003 18:49:05 +0100, "Scott Hunter"
scott@planetterragen.com> wrote:

Who'd be stupid enough to open attachments from Joe Blow anyway? I just
bounce the message and hit delete.

It wasn't from Joe Blow, it had the appearance of being from his ISP,
just as it was in my case. I also scanned the file for a virus when I
received it and found none, but I like to wait a week or so before I
believe that there is truly no virus, long enough for several
signature file updates.

Tom


"Kenny" <elvis@gracelands.com> wrote in message
news:bh18vg$u0v3n$1@ID-126822.news.uni-berlin.de...
Have been getting many e-mails this last week or so with the
following
text,
supposedly from
admin@lineone.net
and "your account" in the subject line.
I do have a LineOne account. There's an attachment named
"message.zip"(19KB) which contains what appears to be a blank HTML
page,
it
comes up clean in Norton scan and passes incoming mail scan. This is
a
recent virus, look here:
http://www.datafellows.fi/v-descs/mimail.shtml
Watch out for it and update your anti-virus, which I intend to do
right
now.


"Hello there,

I would like to inform you about important information regarding your
email address. This email address will be expiring.
Please read attachment for details.

---
Best regards, Administrator
oskoaoaa"


--

Kenny






Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum Index -> alt.certification.a-plus All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 

Copyright © 2002-2006 Web-S-Sense Pty. Ltd. All rights reserved.

Powered by phpBB
Advertising | Policies/Disclaimers | Contact us | Link to us


Featured Sites: Free Antivirus and Antispyware Info | Free PC Support | MCSE Directory